A BOLA – Title Count Battle: Opinion on Understanding FPF (Football) Requirements

The Portuguese Football Federation already has two opinions on the classification of national competitions, compiled by researchers from the Universities of Lisbon, Porto and Coimbra, which will be voted on at the Extraordinary General Assembly on June 29 – which will also be subject to The impact voted last week on refereeing and disciplinary rules at the AG da Liga – a meeting that could rewrite the history of the national football championship.

In 2018, the Independent Commission for the Analysis of National Titles (CIATN) was created as a result of a statement made by Sporting Portugal, which claimed four Portuguese league titles (1922/1923, 1933/1934). , 1935/1936 and 1937 /1938) The Portuguese Championship, which took place between 1921/1922 and 1937/1938, according to the Lions, the winner’s name should have been included in the national championship club list.

The Portuguese Football Federation, when it received the exhibition offered by Sporting, committed to submitting the analysis and historical evaluation of the game to a group of experts – the so-called Independent Commission for the Analysis of National Titles (CIATN) – which delivered the results of this work nearly four years later. And, you know THE BALL, there will be two opinions for discussion and approval. If one of them is approved – the Attorney General of the Federation may decide not to approve either of them… – whatever it is, the list of national titles will change.

– Views 1

Prepared by Amândio JM Barros, Manuel A. Janeira and Ricardo C. Pereira (both nominated by the University of Porto) and Sílvia AC Alves (from the University of Lisbon), the opinion will be on two major events in the history of the country. «The winner of the Portuguese Championship between the 1921/1922 and 1933/1934 seasons must be considered as the national champion, as well as the winner of the league title preceding the national championship (between 1934/1935 and 1937/1938). The winner of the Portuguese Championship between 1934/1935 and 1937/1938 must be recognised as the winner of the Portuguese Cup. “

In other words, if it were the opinion of the partners, Sporting would have two other national titles, like Benfica, but the biggest beneficiaries would be Porto (+3) and Belenses (+3). Marítimo, Carcavelinhos and Olhanense will also be on the list of national champions.As far as the Portuguese Cup is concerned, Sporting have two more games, Benfica and Porto have one more each

– Views 2

Written by Francisco Pinheiro (appointed by the University of Coimbra) is Opinion 2, which is more conservative. «The Portuguese Championship is the predecessor of the Portuguese Cup and the predecessor league (League I and II) of the National Championships (Divisions I and II). Therefore, the winner of the league title (between 1934/35 and 1937/1938) should be considered the national champion, while the club that won the Portuguese Championship from 1921/1922 to the present should be considered the winner of the Portuguese Cup. case.

In other words, if this were an opinion approved by the General Assembly of the Portuguese Football Federation, the history of the national title would remain the same, only the title of the Portuguese Cup would change. In this case, Sporting and Porto would be the biggest winners, with four more home cups, but Benfica and Belenzes would be close behind with three each. Of course, Maritimo, Cacavellinhos and Olhanese will be the winners of the Portuguese Cup.

read more digital version or in the print edition of A BOLA.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.