Windows 11 will show which apps have access to the camera and microphone

The new tool lists programs that request sensitive data and peripherals. (Photo: Copy)

Windows 11 will add a feature for those concerned about privacy when it comes to spying and malware. The system will show which apps have accessed sensitive data and devices. For example, you can know the last program that used the camera, microphone, or contact list.

The feature was added to one of the preview builds of Windows 11 and is available to subscribers of the Windows Insider Developer Channel.

With it, you can learn more about requests for contacts, locations, calls, messages, screenshots, microphone and camera.

There are some restrictions. You can find out which applications accessed this information and when it was last accessed. There is no information, for example, how many times they visited, and no time to visit.

This information is located in the Settings app under “Privacy & Security” and “App Permissions”. There, the Recent Activity drop-down menu shows the last click for each piece of information.

Security News – No word yet on when the feature will be available to all users, nor has Microsoft officially announced it. Even so, company executives have spoken openly about the topic.

David Weston, Microsoft’s vice president of enterprise and operating system security, tweeted about the privacy tools.

This isn’t Microsoft’s only novelty when it comes to system security. In April, it announced improvements to Microsoft Defender SmartScreen phishing protection.

Another upcoming feature is personal data encryption, which protects user data and files—the only way to access them is to authenticate with Windows Hello.

Whatsup update

WhatsApp now allows you to hide the “Profile Picture”, “Last Accessed”, “Messages” and “Status” options for specific contacts in the phone book. The improvement, which has been in beta testing since the beginning of the year, was officially announced this week and expands the scope of privacy in Messenger.

That’s because, until then, there were only three privacy options: “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” or “Nobody.” The update brings the “My contacts, except…” option, which guarantees more autonomy for the user. It is worth mentioning that this feature is available for iPhone (iOS) and Android.

To try something new, just visit the app and tap the three available dots in the top right corner of the screen. Then, just select the Settings > Account > Privacy section and choose the features you want to customize.

If these options do not already appear on your smartphone, it is recommended that you visit the Google Play Store on Android devices or the App Store on iOS devices and update the app to the latest version.